Login | Sign-Up

Polaroids Of Androids


WAMi 2009 nominations announced

Eskimo Joe
Eskimo Joe - the greatest Perth band ever.

Most years we don't bother reporting on the WAMi's - Western Australia's own private music awards. This is partly because we don't like Eskimo Joe and Birds Of Tokyo (zing?), but also because we are incredibly jealous that the western state has it's own (fairly respectable) music 'night of nights'.

But this year we have swallowed our pride/hate and decided to hit you with ONE OF THE LARGEST LISTS EVER PRINTED ON THE INTERNET!!! Ever. For reals. This list is bigger than the current hole in the world's economy and/or the bank accounts of Eskimo Joe (successful band!!!).

The awards night will take place at Metro City in Perth on Thursday, May 7. Voting in the public awards is NOW OPEN at the WAM website and will end on Thursday, April 30 at 5pm (WA time).

Modular kids Tame Impala lead the charge this year with an incredible TEN nominations, including most popular act, best rock act and favourite newcomer. We obviously think Snowman should win the best album (great to even see them get a nomination) but not sure of their chances against Birds Of Tokyo who (for some reason) seem to be an incredibly popular band. Other than that - there aren't too many surprises across any of the categories.

The full list...

Public Voted Awards

Most Popular Act
Birds of Tokyo
Sugar Army
Tame Impala
The Kill Devil Hills

Most Popular Live Act
Birds of Tokyo
Tame Impala
The Kill Devil Hills

Most Popular Music Website
fasterlouder.com (Perth)

Most Popular Album
Abbe May and the Rockin’ Pneumonia – Howl and Moan
Birds of Tokyo – Universes
Snowman – The Horse, The Rat and The Swan
The Painkillers – Love Cancer

Favourite Newcomer
Apricot Rail
Boys Boys Boys!
Tame Impala
Will Stoker and The Embers

Most Popular Music Venue
Amplifier Bar
The Bakery
Fly By Night Musicians Club
Rosemount Hotel

Most Popular Single / EP
Drapht – Jimmy Recard
End of Fashion – Fussy
Felicity Groom – Treasures
Tame Impala – Self Titled EP

Most Popular Music Video
Downsyde – Fortune and Fame
Felicity Groom – Criminal
Sugar Army – Acute
Tame Impala – Half Full Glass of Wine

Most Popular Music Event
Big Day Out - Perth
In The Pines
Laneway Festival

Industry Voted Awards

Golden WAMi
Peter Barr
Dave Cutbush
Kristy Pinder
Steph Edwardes

Best Live Sound Engineer
Dave Carter
Ian Stewart
Luke Willott
Rene De Vries

Media Award - Individual
Aarom Wilson
Bob Gordon
Dave Cutbush
Mike Wafer

Most Promising New Act
Apricot Rail
Boys Boys Boys!
Tame Impala
The Scotch of Saint James

Best Record Producer / Engineer
Alan Smith – Begerk! Recording Studio
Dave Parkin – Blackbird Studio
Laurie McCallum – Sumo Sound Studio
Rob Grant – Poons Head

Media Award - Organisation
The Drum Media
Xpress Magazine

Indigenous Act of the Year
Peter Brandy
The Yabu Band
Warangka Band

Best WA Based Record Label
Good Cop Bad Cop
Jarrah Records
Love Is My Velocity

Management Award
Heath Bradby
Steph Edwardes
Jodie Regan
Philip Stevens

Best Rock Act
Birds of Tokyo
Sugar Army
Tame Impala
The Kill Devil Hills

Best Jazz Act
Johannes Luebbers Dectet
The Graham Wood Trio
Troy Roberts

Best Bassist
Ian Berney (Sugar Army)
Ryan Dux (The Floors, The Kills Devil Hills)
Roy Martinez (The Yabu Band, Cinema Prague)
Dom Simper (Tame Impala)

Best Commercial Pop Act
Bob Evans
Boys Boys Boys!
Eskimo Joe
The Panics

Best Country Music Act
Jane Germain and the Yahoos
The Fancy Brothers
The Kill Devil Hills
The Lazy Railway

Best Guitarist
Andrew Ryan (Fall Electric, Felicity Groom and The Black Black Smoke, Adam Said Galore)
Andrew Winton
Luke Dux (The Floors, Will Stoker and the Embers)
Michael Vdelli (Vdelli)

Best Indie Pop Act
Boys Boys Boys!
Felicity Groom and The Black Black Smoke
Red Jezebel

Best Urban / Hip Hop Act
MC Able
The Typhoons

Best Male Vocalist
Brendon Humphries (The Kill Devil Hills)
Ian Kenny (Birds of Tokyo, Karnivool)
Kevin Parker (Tame Impala)
Pat McLaughlin (Sugar Army)

Best Hardcore / Punk Act
Eleventh He Reaches London
Project Mayhem
The Painkillers

Best Live Electronic Act
The Transients
The Voltaire Twins
Tomas Ford

Best Female Vocalist
Felicity Groom
Abbe May  
Miranda Pollard (New Rules For Boats)
Rachel Dease (Schvendes)

Best Hard Rock / Metal Act
Chaos Divine
The Devil Rides Out

Best DJ
Charlie Bucket
Dan The Man

Best Drummer
Malcolm Clark (The Sleepy Jackson, Circuits of the Sun)
Matt McGuire (Schvendes)
Shaun Sibbes (Circuits of the Sun)
Jay Watson (Tame Impala, Pond)

Best Blues / Roots Act
Abbe May and the Rockin' Pneumonia
Andrew Winton
Simon Kelly Band
The Kill Devil Hills

Best World Act Grace Barbe
David Hyams and the Miles To Go Band

Best Instrumentalist
Alex Archer (The Kill Devil Hills, The Devil and Abbe May, Felicity Groom and The Black Black Smoke)
Jaymes Brown (Voltaire Twins)
Lee Jones (Circuits of the Sun, Astronaut)
Tristen Parr (Schvendes, Fall Electric)

Best Funk Act
Sneaky Weasel Gang
The Bigness
Sunshine Brothers
The Typhoons

Best Electronic Producer
Adrian Sardi
Tomas Ford

Filed Under
Tame Impala
Birds Of Tokyo
Sugar Army
The Kill Devil Hills
Eskimo Joe


You'll Probly Like This Stuff Too





1 decade ago


Sugar Army are one of my guilty pleasures.

1 decade ago

Jonny Yes Yes

i used to like you kym :)

1 decade ago


Oh shit, did I say that out loud?

1 decade ago

Comments are currently closed because Spam Bots ruin everything.